Another simple main course recipe:

This is a recipe I make very often and is one of Dan’s favorites. It is my version of Shepherd’s Pie. I believe it would be a good camping recipe only I would need to do it on a smaller scale so there were no leftovers. It would also need a smaller casserole dish to fit in the oven.
Usually, most things I cook are made in larger amounts since we enjoy many things more than once. We really don’t mind leftovers. If it was good the first time, it will taste great another time. If I have too much of anything left, I then freeze it for another time further down the road.
I will need to learn to make just enough for one meal so there is nothing left to try and store. As I said, there is a good chance this will fit in a very small oven dish and just be perfect for one meal.
The Shepherd’s Pie I make is very easy and consists of only a few ingredients. I basically use hamburger, Instant mashed potatoes, canned whole corn and shredded cheddar cheese. It is a comfort food and really hits the spot after a stressful day or a cold one.
First, I brown the hamburger in a pan with Italian seasonings and part of an onion chopped. For a smaller dish a ½ pound of burger should suffice.
Second, I make Instant potatoes according to the package and probably 4 servings would work well.
Third I layer things starting with hamburger, then potatoes, then corn, then hamburger again ending up with potatoes. I could use just half a can of corn for this smaller dish. Before baking I sprinkle a good amount of shredded cheddar on the top.
Bake for about 20 minutes or adjust time till heated through and your cheese is nicely melted.

Add some good bread and a salad and you’re all set.This is a fairly versatile dish and you could use another veggie or a different cheese. It tastes good any way and you could make use of what is on hand.
If it is still too much, it keeps well in the fridge for a few days.

Leave a Reply

